Australian Cider Awards judges revealed

23 May 2017

Cider Australia is pleased to announce the judging panel for this year’s national cider show.

The selection of the judging panel is a critical element of the Australian Cider Awards assessment process which is governed by professionalism, integrity and rigour.

The full panel of judges comprises chair Behn Payten (Payten & Jones Wines), Spanish guest judge Eduardo Vázquez Coto, Sebastian Crowther MS (Rockpool Bar & Grill Melbourne), Lucy Maddox (Madrez Wine Services) and Kirrily Waldhorn (Beer Diva founder).

“Cider Australia ensures members of the panel have a wide diversity of knowledge and experience,” said Chief Steward of the Awards and head cider maker at Flying Brick Cider Co. on the Bellarine Peninsula, Nyall Condon.

“The Awards are an incredible opportunity for producers and distributors to have their ciders benchmarked against hundreds of local and international ciders by a world class panel of judges”.

“Come September, our panel of judges will prepare to critique entries on their aroma and flavour, appearance, mouthfeel and overall impression”, said Mr Condon.

Entries will open next week.


2017 Australian Cider Awards – Key dates

Entries Open Thu 1 June
Entries Close Fri 1 Sept
Deliver Entries 1 Sept – 15 Sept
Judging (closed to public) Tue 26 and Wed 27 Sept
Awards Presentation Fri 27 Oct
Australian Cider Festival Sat 28 Oct

Media representatives are invited to visit the judging in central Melbourne, but this is closed to the public. Photo and interview opportunities with judges will be available on request.

For more details contact Cider Australia executive officer Jane Anderson on 0434 559 759 or visit   

Latest tweets