New President for Cider Australia

17 Dec 2020

A new President will lead the Australian cider industry body into the new year as cider producers celebrate a renewed sense of allegiance to locally grown produce.

Sam Reid of Tasmania’s Willie Smith’s Cider Makers will step down after six and a half years as President of Cider Australia and one year as Vice President.

“I am proud to have led the charge to establish a sustainable craft cider category in Australia, navigating the ongoing challenge of policy and legislative reform while establishing a marketable 100% Australian Grown cider brand.

“Joining forces with Wine Australia through the Export and Regional Wine Support Package Cider Program has been a highlight over the past few years and has enabled our vision for the industry to come to life.

“I feel the industry is now at a point where people recognise and value quality Australian craft ciders, and that is immensely rewarding”, said Sam.

“I am pleased to announce that Warwick Billings of LOBO Cider in the Adelaide Hills will take on the role of President of Cider Australia from 1 January 2021″.

Warwick joined the Executive team in 2014 as Vice President and chair of the policy and technical working group and more recently also took on the role of Chief Steward of the Australian Cider Awards.

“He is astute and highly motivated and I and the Executive team have great confidence that his guidance will serve the industry well”, said Sam.

“Warwick has been making fantastic, interesting ciders for some time now and is well placed to continue to take us cider tragics on a great journey into the future”.

Incoming present Warwick acknowledged Sam’s achievements in uniting the industry and educating and inspiring others to embrace Australian craft cider.


Cider Australia 2021 Executive Committee

President – Warwick Billings, LOBO Cider (SA)
Vice President – Gus Kelly, Kelly Bros Cider (VIC)
Secretary – Richard Feyn, Sydney Brewery (NSW_
Treasurer – Shane McLaughlin, Hillbilly Cider (NSW)
Category Development – Andrew Carruthers, Carmel Cider (WA)
Digital – Mark Ellis, Pobblebonk Cider Works (VIC)
Committee members – Jo-Anne Fahey (Darkes Cider, NSW), Doug Inwood (3 Sons Cider, ACT), Tim Jones (RDS Partners, TAS), Peter Ross (Incy Wincy Cyder, NSW)



– Ends –



For more details please contact Cider Australia executive officer Jane Anderson on
0434 559 759 or or visit

About Cider Australia 

Cider Australia is an independent, not-for-profit organisation funded by cider businesses and sponsors, established in 2012. It aims to build a sustainable cider category by undertaking activities that improve the quality of ciders produced and marketed in Australia. The organisation represents the interests of the cider industry to policy makers, calling for regulations and policies that support a diverse and evolving cider industry, and runs the national cider conference AusCider and the Australian Cider Awards.

Latest tweets